#39 Understanding the Eight-Limbs of Ashtanga Yoga with Jayson Barniske


The Eight-Limbs of Ashtanga Yoga with Jayson Barniske

Thousands of years ago, the yogic sage Patanjali wrote the sutras and yoga accessible to the world. The eight-limbs of ashtanga yoga are a scientific method toward attaining self-realization. Yoga is much more than a mere physical practice. This episode dives deep in the history, philosophy, comprehension, and practical application of Patanjali’s method in our modern lives. Jayson shares lessons about the eight-limbs he learned directly from Tim and Yogi Ji. This podcast covers:

-What is Ashtanga Yoga (eight-limbs)?

1) Yamas (non-harm, truth, non-stealing, self-restraint, non-hoarding)

2) Niyamas (cleanliness, contentment, Heat, self-observation, surrender)

3) Asana (posture)

4) Pranayama (breath-control)

5) Pratyahara (sense-withdrawal)

6) Dharana (concentration)

7) Dhyana (meditation)

8) Samadhi (enlightenment)


-Who is Patanjali (Yogi, Scientist, Writer, Poet)?

-What are the Yoga Sutra’s?

-Progressing through the eight-limbs.

-Upper limbs vs. lower limbs

-How important are yoga postures in the Ashtanga system?

-The Kleshas or the 5 Afflictions of the Mind  (ignorance, ego, attachment, averesion and fear)

-Why a qualified teacher is necessary to learn ashtanga yoga

-Understanding enlightenment and absorption through consistent practice.

-Jayson ends the podcast with a recently channeled meditation.


To find out more about Jayson or buy his book check out:



You can also listen to this podcast on iTunes here:



Share | Download